Ticket / fog

If I were a computer, I think I’d have to be rebooted all the time. I’m always discovering critical faults. Like never believing that I can outcompete other people when it comes to signing up for limited tickets, so I give up before I even try. The latest episode of this is signing up for one of those free Singapore airport tours when I had 12 hours in transit there. I told myself that I shouldn’t bother checking availabilities because I’m sure that the hundreds of thousands of people passing through Changi airport every day would have beat me to it already. And then about 2 or 3 days before my departure, I went to check in a perverse attempt to reinforce my internal confirmation bias or something. I don’t really know. Somebody help me understand my own brain.

Of course, I did go on my own independent sightseeing trip into town. I had to take advantage of the fact that I am incredibly and unfairly privileged with an Australian digital passport that lets me into and out of Singapore again within the space of hours, without having to speak to a single border official. 

My memories of Singapore are incredibly fragmented. I’ve always passed through while in transit, usually a bit foggy in the head after an overnight flight, and I’d have time to see about 1 or 2 things. Did I already see this 15 years ago? I can’t quite always remember. I know, though, that after all this time I still haven’t been to the Merlion statue, which is where I decided to head this time. The fortunate thing about an early morning transit is that I avoid most of the crowds. I must say that the Merlion actually exceeded expectations. I was expecting something a little bit more … lame, I guess? I don’t know. I must say that among all the half-and-half creatures I’ve seen so far, I like it more that the Sphinx or the Little Mermaid. Maybe it’s the transit-induced brain fog. And more literal fog from the humidity on my glasses and camera lens.

I chose to tell you about this quick transit trip because as usual, I’ve found myself at the end of another month and running out of time. I’ll hopefully tell you about the real destination next month. Hint: I’ve blogged about it before, so it’s not like it’s a big exotic reveal, and I’m not sure why I’m being all mysterious about it.

Leave a comment